My Progress So Far – The end of week 7

For the past 6 weeks or so I have been in the Cruise phase of this diet. I am starting to get used to my foods and for the most part I am pretty content with my food selection. I guess you can say I have hit a rhythm. This morning my scale said that I was down 3.2 lbs which makes a total of 22.6 lbs overall. Not too shabby.

The big change since I last checked in is that people are really starting to notice my weight loss. Everyone I see has something nice to say, its really nice but I think that its starting to define me. To be honest I kinda want to blend in and not have my diet and weight-loss take center-stage, but I guess it comes with the territory.

My clothes are definitely starting to fit differently. About a week ago I ran out of holes in my favorite belt, I thought about cutting new holes but decided against it. I also have to retire some of my pants, in fact my whole wardrobe will soon need to be swapped out for smaller clothes. I haven’t decided whether I should box up and store my ‘fat’ clothes or if I should donate them. Boxing them up just feels like I am planning to gain weight again. I guess I’ll have to think some more.

About 4-5 years ago I put a box of clothes in storage labelled ‘skinny clothes.’ These were clothes that I wore for a short time following an Atkins’ diet adventure. I say short time because I only fit in them for about 4 months, I rebounded fairly quickly. So I found this box in my garage and decided that I should open it before spending money on new clothes. I found some clothes that I used to love, and some from fashion trends past. I was somewhat disappointed to find out that I only fit in about half of the clothes. This was reminder that I haven’t even reached 1/2 way to my goal yet.

In the last two weekends I have been to 3 bbq’s, These were particularly challenging for me, the typical food at these events aren’t always diet friendly. I have found that well done hamburgers with mustard are close to acceptable, and one bbq had grilled chicken, score! The bbq I went to yesterday wasn’t quite as easy. We were celebrating a 3rd birthday for a cousin of my daughters. We arrived about 10 am and the lunch came out around 12:30; fresh fruit, Peanut-butter and jelly sandwiches, Macaroni and cheese, or meatballs. OH no, this was the first time since starting the diet that I went anywhere which didn’t have food that I could eat. I sucked it up and quieted my hunger pangs till 2:30 and drove to closest restaurant with grilled chicken. I thought not drinking was tough, but not eating proved to be a greater challenge.

Leave a Reply

