My Progress So Far – The end of week 23

For the past month or so I feel as my progress has slowed to a crawl. I understand that as you lose weight, you have less weight to lose, therefore you progress will inevitably slow. But this is really getting hard to stay motivated. Some of the slowing down I can attribute to myself, I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to have having a few party nights as I crossed the 53.4lb threshold that I set when I started this ‘project.’

Since I last checked in (about a month ago) I have lost 7.2lbs which makes it a total of 59.2lbs lost. I cannot believe that I have lost almost 60lbs, I cannot believe that I had 60lbs to lose, but that is another story. To be perfectly honest I started this diet on a whim, expecting to fail. The fact that I met (and now exceeded) my goal feels pretty good. 

About two weeks after I wrote last, I hadn’t lost much, if any, weight. I had to take a serious look at my habits if I was going to continue dieting. I decided that the best course of action was increase exercise. I increased my runs form 2.5 miles twice per week to 3-5 miles 3 times per week. This had huge impact that was noticeable almost immediately. More over I was shocked how easy it was to run farther, I had never considered myself a ‘runner,’ and before last week I had never run more that 3 consecutive miles in my life.

I have shaved roughly 6-8 inches off my waste and my appearance looks pretty drastically different. I actually look somewhat similar to how I did when I was in college, and that was about 10 years ago. Roughly a month ago I took the last of my ‘skinny-clothes’ out of storage and worked them into my rotation. Since it had been a while since I wore most of them, they didn’t quite live up to the business casual standard of work attire. I had to buy more and more clothes, and finally my closet couldn’t take it any more. I had to start the weeding out process. Surprisingly this was a somewhat emotional process. After I started going through my clothes, I realized that most of my clothes looked ridiculous on me. Some of my favorite shirts and pants which I had formed some deranged emotional attachment to, had to go. It was like a trip down memory lane.

I started out with iron strong conviction that any piece of clothing that was way to baggy would either be thrown away or given away. As I finished my sorting process I had put 3/4 of everything I own in a pile to go, and even worse I did not have a single piece of clothing that I used to wear in the  ‘keep’ pile. I don’t want to harp on this, but the metaphorical transformation irony was not lost on me. In the end I boxed up most of the clothes and put them in the attic. I know I may be jinxing myself for a weight-relapse, but what the hell, I love some of those clothes, they are almost a part of me.

2 responses to “My Progress So Far – The end of week 23

  1. Excellent read, I simply passed this onto a friend who was doing a minor researching on that. And he definitely bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

Leave a Reply

