Recipe – Steak with Onions in Marsala Sauce

I have posted a few recipes, but my wife reminded me there aren’t any for a ‘pure protein’ day. Hopefully this will help fill that gap. It is important to note that this recipe will also include butter, you should really minimize the amount of fat you use, to stay healthy.  The butter is an important as a gauge of temperature of your pan, so you should not omit it all-together.

Ingredients

  • 2 – new york strip steaks (about 1 1/2″ thick)
  • 1/2 red Onion, quartered and thinly sliced
  • 1 shallot, halved and thinly sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup dry marsala wine
  • 1/3 cup low sodium, low fat, low carb beef stock/broth
  • 1/4 cup fat free feta cheese crumbles – optional
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • thin slice of butter
  • A cast iron or nonstick skillet/fry-pan (at least 12″ diameter and 1&1/2″ deep)

Recipe

  1. About a half hour prior to cooking take the steaks, take them out of the fridge and let them come up to room temperature
  2. Cut away and remove the ring of fat from the outside for the steaks, if necessary
  3. Place the steaks on 3 layers of  paper towels, cover with 3 layers as well.  Let sit for 3 minutes  (This will wick the excess moisture from the steaks and allow for proper browning of the meat)
  4. Place the oil and butter in your pan, heat to medium-high heat. The oil is at the right temperature to brown your steaks once the butter has stopped ‘popping’, the bubbles have subsided, and before the butter browns/burns.
  5. Lightly coat the steaks with salt and freshly ground pepper
  6. Place the steaks in the pan and fry for 5-10 minutes per side. A nice dark crust should form on the outside of the steak. The time you fry your steak will depend on the thickness of the cut. I use a meat thermometer to gauge cook time (145F for medium)
  7. Remove the steaks and place on a side dish (do not cut into them), top with cheese
  8. Pour out excess fat from the frypan, leave just enough to lightly coat the surface of the pan (about 1/4- 1/2 tsp)
  9. Place the red onions in the pan and stir frequently until they begin to lightly brown, about 5 min
  10. Add the shallot, saute 1-2 min
  11. Add the garlic, saute 1 min
  12. Add the wine and stock, lightly scrape the pan to ‘de-glaze’
  13. Saute the sauce until it reduces to about 1/4 cup liquid
  14. Adjust flavor with salt and pepper, if needed
  15. Remove sauce from heat, and top the steaks with the onions, pour the left over liquid over the steaks.

enjoy!

 

 

 

2 responses to “Recipe – Steak with Onions in Marsala Sauce

  1. Amazing weblog! Do you might have any suggestions for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own weblog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a totally free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? You’ll find so several choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any tips? Appreciate it!

    • Thanks for your kind words of encouragement! I was very overwhelmed at first too. Luckily I had a buddy who teaches courses on this stuff. I don’t think I could have done this without him http://kurteng.com/. I have decided to go totally free because I blog as a hobby. The downside to this is that wordpress can sell ads on your site and you have no input. I was pretty peeved when they started advertising for hotpockets, doritos, and pepsi on my diet site but what can I do. I have mulled the idea of paying to ‘self-host’ but at this point I do not have enough traffic to justify the roughly $100/year. All in all, I have been very happy with wordpress, and if I decide to go the ‘pay’ route it is a very easy transition (so I am told). I have been advised that as soon as you consider ‘self-hosting’ you should do it, but you will lose money at first. I have not adhered to this advise yet. We will see what the future holds.
      Feel free contact me, and Kurt is a great blogging resource.

Leave a Reply

