My Progress So Far – The end of week 35

Against the advice in the Dukan Diet Book, I decided to give myself a ‘free-pass’ on Christmas Day. I ate and drank whatever I wanted with no concern for my diet. It was glorious!

Over the past 2 weeks I gained 4.8lbs, all of this weight can be attributed to ‘my day of sin.’ 

I had been fairly ‘good’ dieting for the past 200+ days and I had only significantly cheating once before.  I felt myself (emotionally) getting weak, and the stress of the holidays were only making things harder. My rationale for this strategy was: I know that I am approaching the end of this diet shortly and I don’t want to deprive myself so much that I when I reach my goal I drastically rebound and undo my hard work. I want a sustainable solution. I know the risks of cheating, the biggest risk is not returning. I may write a dedicated post about ‘cheating’.

When I weighed-in the day after Christmas I was pretty disappointed. I had set myself back (atleast) a month. The weight has not been coming off as easily lately. I have decided to strengthen my resolve, and enter the final leg of this marathon. I want to aggressively start my final phase of weight-loss. More exercise and better eating lay ahead.

For the past few months my wife had joined me in this diet. She has always been a thin, beautiful women, but she wanted to lose her baby weight (we have an 11-month-old). She was intimidated by the strictness of the diet but was inspired by my progress and success. She lost 26lbs in three months, and now she is entering the ‘consolidation’ phase. She looks amazing. I am jealous that she is done! I want to be done as well.

One response to “My Progress So Far – The end of week 35

  1. I believe that avoiding highly processed foods could be the first step to help lose weight. They may taste beneficial, but processed foods possess very little vitamins and minerals, making you eat more just to have enough energy to get over the day. If you are constantly consuming these foods, moving over to grain and other complex carbohydrates will assist you to have more electricity while ingesting less. Thanks alot : ) for your blog post.

Leave a Reply

